Back to books
Little Critter 12-Book Phonics Fun!

Little Critter 12-Book Phonics Fun!

By Mercer Mayer, Illustrated by Mercer Mayer


This set of 12 simple and fun Little Critter® storybooks is an excellent choice to share at home or in the preschool or kindergarten classroom. It’s a fun way to learn to read and as a supplement for activity books for children ages 3 to 6. Enter into the world of reading with I Can Read Phonics! 

Join Mercer Mayer’s classic and beloved character, Little Critter, as he helps kids learn to read!

This 12-book program helps build a foundation for a lifetime of reading fun. The simple stories are full of silly Little Critter antics and feature short and long vowel sounds.

Reviewed by a phonics expert, each of the simple stories in this box set is designed to teach kids how to master reading while having fun with Little Critter.

Phonics teaches children the relationship between letters and the sounds they make. A child who has mastered these relationships has an excellent foundation for learning to read and spell. According to the National Institute of Child Health & Human Development, a child who has learned phonics has a method to recognize familiar words and "decode" unfamiliar ones.


Mercer Mayer

Mercer Mayer is the creator of the enduringly popular Little Critter books. Drawing from his own childhood adventures for inspiration, Mayer has created a beloved and classic character in Little Critter. You can visit him at

Illustrated by Mercer Mayer


Imprint: HarperCollins

Format: Paperback

On Sale: 09/11/2012

ISBN: 9780061478253

ISBN10: 0061478253

Trimsize: 8.000 x 8.000 in


JUVENILE FICTION / Readers / Beginner

JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / General