More Great Brands
Back to books

Penny and Her Marble

By Kevin Henkes, Illustrated by Kevin Henkes

Other Formats

  • EPUB
  • Description

    Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes’s award-winning Penny returns in the third I Can Read story about a sweet and curious mouse, perfect for fans Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse, Owen, and Chrysanthemum.

    When Penny spots a marble in Mrs. Goodwin's front yard, she picks it up, puts it in her pocket, and takes it home. It's a beautiful marble—it's big, shiny, blue, smooth, and fast, and Penny loves it. But does the marble really belong to Penny? Penny and Her Marble was named a 2014 Geisel Honor book by the American Library Association. This annual award, given to the most distinguished books for beginning readers, is named for the world-renowned children's author Theodor Geisel, also known as Dr. Seuss.

    Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge. Penny and Her Marble is a Level One I Can Read book, which means it's perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences.

    Don't miss Penny's newest adventures in Penny and Her Sled, coming this fall!

     

    Contributors

    Kevin Henkes

    Kevin Henkes is an award-winning author and illustrator of many books for children of all ages. He received the Caldecott Medal for Kitten’s First Full Moon; Caldecott Honors for Waiting and Owen; two Newbery Honors—one for Olive’s Ocean and one for The Year of Billy Miller—and Geisel Honors for Waiting and Penny and Her Marble. His other books include Egg, Old Bear, A Good Day, Chrysanthemum, and the beloved Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse. Kevin Henkes lives with his family in Madison, Wisconsin. www.kevinhenkes.com


    Illustrated by Kevin Henkes

    Details

    Imprint: Greenwillow Books

    Format: Paperback

    On Sale: 08/27/2013

    ISBN: 9780062082053

    ISBN10: 0062082051

    Pages: 48

    Trimsize: 9.000 x 6.000 in

    Subcategory:

    JUVENILE FICTION / Readers / Beginner

    JUVENILE FICTION / Family / General

    JUVENILE FICTION / Social Issues / Emotions & Feelings

    Extra Links